FEMM – 80s / 90s J-POP REVIVAL Released on CD and Limited Edition Cassette

FEMM pic

17 Dec FEMM – 80s / 90s J-POP REVIVAL Released on CD and Limited Edition Cassette

Sentient J-pop mannequins FEMM return with covers of classic tunes from Japan’s golden era of pop in new album 80s / 90s J-POP REVIVAL, out from JPU Records on CD and as a limited edition cassette (with digital download) from 19 January 2018.

Songs from popular TV series, films and commercials that penetrated a generation and influenced Japanese pop-culture have been included, each reimagined in FEMM’s feisty, electronic style. These include hits originally from pioneers such as TM NETWORK, Kome Kome Club, the brilliant green and many heroes of J-pop.

The first video to be released from the album is FEMM’s version of idol duo WINK’s classic Samishii Nettaigyo, originally released in 1989. The music video also pays homage to the original, which can be found here, with FEMM’s video embedded below;

The release will be available across Europe on CD, with a limited run of 200 cassettes available that also contain a digital download code for the album.

FEMM broke out of Japan with their feisty video “Fxxk Boyz Get Money”, a smash hit anthem with attitude and twerk moves like none before them. The video has had over 1.6 million views on YouTube and has been shared by fashionistas and influencers worldwide. “Vice” in the US, rave about them as a “Supergroup”.

On MTV IGGY, by an overwhelming 97.7% vote in their favour, they won ‘Artist of the Week.’ Their online-only album “Femm-Isation” hit the 10th in the World Music chart within the American Billboard.

FEMM – 80s / 90s J-POP REVIVAL

01. My Revolution feat. Akina, Anna & Mikako from FAKY
(Originally performed by Misato Watanabe. TV drama “Sailor-fuku dori” theme song. Released 1986)
02. Candy Girl
(Originally performed by hitomi. Nippon Kodak “Snap kids EX” TV commercial song. Released 1995)
03. Samishii Nettaigyo
(Originally performed by WINK. Panasonic “Headphone Stereo S Type” TV commercial song. Released 1989)
04. Donna Tokimo.
(Originally performed by Noriyuki Makihara. Movie “Shushokusensen Ijonashi” theme song. Released 1991)
05. Sumire September Love
(Originally performed by Ippudo. Kanebo “Lady 80 Powder eyeshadow” TV commercial song. Released 1992)
06. There will be love there –Ai no aru basho–
(Originally performed by the brilliant green. TV drama “Love Again” theme song. Released 1998)
07. Dear Friends
(Originally performed by PERSONZ. TV drama “Mama Haha Boogie” theme song. Released 1989)
08. Roman Hikou
(Originally performed by Kome Kome Club. JAL “JAL STORY Summer Campaign ” TV commercial song. Released 1990)
09. Sotsugyo
(Originally performed by Yuki Saito. Myojo “Seishun to Iu Na no Ramen” TV commercial song. Released 1985)
(Originally performed by LINDBERG. Fuji TV “Yume de Aetara” opening song. Released 1991)
(Originally performed by TM NETWORK. Movie “Bokura no Nanokakan Senso” theme song. Released 1988)
12. Konya wa Boogie Back (nice vocal) feat. Lil’ Fang from FAKY & Yup’in
(Originally performed by Kenji Ozawa feat. Schadaraparr. Fuji TV “Tamori’s Super Vocabula Tengoku” ending song. Released 1994)

No Comments

Post A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.